The *National SAM Project* undertook the development of this draft collection of instructional materials for university education leadership professors in collaboration with Wallace Foundation Cohesive Leadership System state grantees in Illinois, Iowa and Kentucky.

Selected universities in each of the three states will pilot, or test, this module. Revisions will be completed in February, 2010 with a final version of the module ready for distribution in April, 2010. These materials may not be copied or reproduced without written permission of the National SAM Project. © 2009

Special thanks to <u>The Wallace Foundation</u> for making this work possible and state grant directors Erika Hunt, Illinois State University, Troyce Fisher, School Administrators of Iowa, Lynne Wheat, Jefferson County Public Schools and Debbie Daniels, Kentucky Department of Education.

Finally, thanks to Cathy Tencza, Tencza Design cathy@tenczadesigns.com. Cathy worked collaboratively, creatively and cohesively with hundreds of educators connected with the SAM project to produce this module. Her work is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Mark Shellinger, Director
National SAM Project
Fairbanks@insightbb.com www.Sams.Connect.com

The following professionals contributed to *Making Time*:

Judy Mullins, University of Louisville Thaddeus Dumas, University of Louisville Lynne Wheat, Jefferson County P.S. Carol Lensing, School Administrators of Iowa Troyce Fisher, School Administrators of Iowa Jan Walker, Drake University Liz Hollingworth, University of Iowa Jan Beatty, Iowa State Chuck Manges, Loras & St. Ambrose John Closen, Western Illinois University Dave Turner, University of Illinois, Springfield Ana Gil Garcia, Northeastern Illinois University Linda Morford, Eastern Illinois University Joe Pacha, Illinois State University Erika Hunt, Illinois State University Valerie Jackson, Chicago Public Schools Bert Hendee, Large Unit District Association Jay Lalley, Chicago Public Schools Debbie Daniels, Kentucky D.O.E. Orin Simmerman, Kentucky D.O.E. Joseph Murphy, Vanderbilt University Fred Brown, The Wallace Foundation

Jim Rinehart, Eastern Kentucky University Robert Biggin, Eastern Kentucky University Jim Allen, Northern Kentucky University David Barnett, Morehead State University Tricia Browne-Ferrigno, University of Kentucky Gary Pate, University of the Cumberlands Gayle Ecton, Western Kentucky University Brenda Maynard, Pike County Schools Tonia Hopson, Pike County Schools Marcie Lowe, Kentucky (EPSB) Shirley LaFavers, Kentucky (KASA) Michael Kral, Kentucky Education Association Pat Trotter, Kentucky D.O.E. Debbie Baker, Bellarmine University Jan Calvert, Bellarmine University John Sizemore, Bellarmine University John Russ, Jefferson County Public Schools Dr. Susan Deaton, Union College Dr. Eve Profitt, Georgetown College Linda France, Asbury College National SAM Conference attendees, 2008